Scapula, also known as the “shoulder blade,” is part of the shoulder girdle and connect the clavicle to the humerus.  4 of the muscles originated from the scapula (Supraspinatus, Infraspinatus, Subscapularis and Teres Minor) form the rotator cuff that surrounds the shoulder joint.  The bone mass (or thickness) of the scapula can indicate age of the individual (older individual have thinner scapula).

Landmarks of the scapula include:

  1. Superior angle
  2. scapular notch
  3. coracoid process
  4. glenoid fossa
  5. lateral border
  6. inferior angle
  7. medial border
  8. supraspinous fossa
  9. infraspinous fossa
  10. subscapular fossa
  11. supraglenoid tubercle
  12. infraglenoid tubercle/tuberosity.

Muscles that originate or insert into the scapula include:

  1. Pectoralis minor
  2. Biceps brachii
  3. Coracobrachialis
  4. Levator scapulae
  5. Rhomboids
  6. Teres Major
  7. Teres Minor
  8. Subscapularis
  9. Latissimus dorsi
  10. Triceps brachii (long head)
  11. Infraspinatus
  12. Deltoid
  13. Serratus anterior
  14. Omohyoid

To distinguish left and right, go to here.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s